Breaking Bad Has Ruined Television For Me

Breaking Bad has ruined network television for me.  And it most cases cable television as well.  It’s just too good.

Having a conversation with my coworkers about the new series Terra Nova on FOX it just hit me: I really have a hard time watching network television after being exposed to the awesomeness that is Breaking Bad.  To Terra Nova’s credit it’s a good show in its own right, and it fills a sci-fi niche that has been missing from prime time for a long time.  But it’s just not good.  It really isn’t.

Before I bash Terra Nova too much I’ll just stop right here because that conversation could have been about almost any show on NBC, ABC, CBS and FOX.  The quality of shows being shown on network TV is just weak.  Either that or my taste for what is on those channels has soured almost completely.

Here is my reason for why I feel the way that I do: character development.  I just can’t connect with more than a couple of characters on any sitcom or crime drama (ok, comedies).  Breaking Bad however…well, now that’s a different story.  I may not be able to relate to the characters but I can sure as Hell connect with them somehow.  Whether it’s good writing or good acting I have no idea.  But when I’m sucked in to a show from the first 10 seconds of the series premiere to the last second of the season finale (season 4) then that means something.

Personally I hope that shows like this never make it to network.  And I hope they stay away from pay cable channels like HBO.  They already have their shows, as well as sketchy series schedules.  I’ve seen a few shows die after a few seasons without any warning or explanation.  So keep your premium channels shows just as they are and leave my AMC alone.

If you haven’t seen Breaking Bad yet then I suggest that you do.

One thought on “Breaking Bad Has Ruined Television For Me

  1. Brett says:

    Hey dude, it’s been a while since you’ve written anything. I figured my annoying comments had driven you to a new blog…

    I’ve never seen Breaking Bad. I like the dad from Malcolm in the Middle, so I’d probably like the show, but it just doesn’t grab me as something I need to watch. Terra Nova did grab me. And you’re totally right – it’s just missing something. Kinda reminds me of that awful superhero show, The Cape. Great premise, but poor execution. I ‘m a big fan of most of the USA network’s original programming, but there’s not much on ABC/CBS/NBC/Fox that I care about.

    So how’s life out east these days?

Leave a Reply

